History of NCHO

North Carolina Housing Officers (NCHO) was organized in 1973 by housing professionals in North Carolina to create a professional community that promotes an exchange of ideas and philosophies among institutions with residence hall programs. NCHO is associated with the Southeastern Association of Housing Officers (SEAHO), and sends a representative to the business meetings of SEAHO.

Currently, 57 private and public institutions are affiliated with NCHO, including all 16 campuses of the University of North Carolina System.

In 1983, after ten years of service and growth, the membership endorsed the development of a purpose statement.

The purpose of the association of North Carolina Housing Officers shall be to:

  • Unite people at public and independent institutions with responsibility for residence life, housing, and related support areas.
  • Encourage the sharing of resources, programs, procedures, information, and policies of common interest.
  • Cultivate professionalism, high standards, and ethical approaches. Address the needs of staff members in all areas of housing including residence life, operations, and administration.
  • Make participation affordable.
  • Provide an annual conference, workshop on current issues, a newsletter, and directory of institutional and individual members.
  • Serve as a liaison with other state, regional, and national organizations.
  • Provide an opportunity for staff members at all levels to contribute and actively participate in the achievement of NCHO goals.
  • Support the philosophies of non-discrimination, equal opportunity, and equal access in our workshop and on our campuses.In 1997, a Past-President’s Task Force took a look at the future of NCHO. This group laid the framework for outreach programs and an effort to revitalize the annual conference.

NCHO celebrated its 25th anniversary at the 1998 conference in Asheville. The new logo was unveiled at the conference.

The 1999 conference marked the first time that NCHO hosted a combined conference with the North Carolina College Personnel Association (NCCPA).

Past Presidents

Please note that the institutions listed were at the time of their presidency.


2021-22 – D’Najah Pendergrass (Wake Forest University)
 – Aliana Harrison (Elon University)


2019 – Shelley Wald (UNC Greensboro)
2018 – Ramona Richmond (UNC School of the Arts)
2017 – Chester Miller (NCSU)
2016 – Chris Gregory (UNCG)
2016 – Chris Gregory (UNCG)
2015 – Mindy Bliss (Mars Hill University)
2014 – Hassel Morrison (North Carolina Central University)
– Katie Bartholomew (UNC Chapel Hill)
2012 – Jennifer Wilder (NC Central University)
2010-2011 – Lisa LaBarbera (NC State University)
2010 – Dei Allard (UNC Chapel Hill)

2009 – 
Steve Myszak (East Carolina University)
2008 – 
Heidi LeCount (Meredith College)
2007 – 
Scott Carter (East Carolina University)
2006 – 
Barry Olson (NC State University) 
2005 – 
Rob Foreman (Gardner Webb)
2004 – 
Tim Blair (NC State University)
2003 – 
Dawn Dillon (Peace College)
2002 – Doug Searcy (Gardner-Webb University)
2001 – Joe Boehman (UNC Chapel Hill)
2000 – Carol Cooper (NC School of the Arts)

 – Al Calarco (UNC Chapel Hill)
1998 – Paul Barnes (Wake Forest University)
1997 – Chris Kaberline (UNC – Wilmington)
1996 – Don Miller (Lenoir-Rhyne College)
1995 – Susan Grant (NC State University)
1994 – Linda Inman (NCA&TSU)
1993 – Doug Canipe (Appalachian State University)
1992 – Chris Kaberline (UNC – Wilmington)
1991 – Brad Reid (UNC – Charlotte)
1990 – Don Miller (Lenoir-Rhyne College)

 – Carolyn Fulgram (East Carolina University)
1988 – Dennis Gregory (Wake Forest University)
1987 – Cynthia Bonner (NC State University)
1986 – Lydia Lewis (UNC – Chapel Hill)
1985 – Steve Haulman (UNC – Greensboro)
1984 – Bob Dunnigan (Appalachian State University)
1983 – Charlie King & Gary Juhan (UNC – Wilmington)
1982 – Jackie Simpson (UNC – Charlotte)
1981 – Randy Rice (Western Carolina University)
1980 – Dan Wooten (East Carolina University)

 – Ed Cunnings & Susan Given (Wake Forest/NC School of the Arts)
1978 – Paul Marion (NC State University)
1977 – Shirley Flynn & Chuck Lynch (UNC – Greensboro/Queens College)
1976 – Penny Camp (UNC – Charlotte)
1975 – Bob Dunnigan (Appalachian State University)
1974 – ————-
1973 – Jim Condie (UNC – Chapel Hill)