Awards and Scholarships

NCHO Awards

NCHO awards are given out each year during the NCHO Annual Conference as a way to recognize colleagues and partners for their outstanding work.

Annual awards include:

  • Alexis (Lexie) Kamerman Dedication to Social Justice and Peace Award
  • Graduate Student of the Year
  • Outstanding New Professional
  • Outstanding Mid-level Professional
  • Al Calarco Commitment to Excellence Award
  • Bob Dunnigan Lifetime Service and Achievement Award
  • Scott Braswell Award Description
  • Dan Wooten Award
  • R. Randy Rice Service Award

NCHO Scholarships

NCHO scholarships are offered throughout the year to members of NCHO in each of the following categories:

NCHO Annual Conference

  • 2 Scholarships to a full-time professional from an Historically Black College or University
  • 2 Scholarships to a full-time professional representing an institution with a total enrollment of less than 3,000 students to qualify as a Small College or University.
  • 6 Scholarships to a part/full time Graduate Student employed by a Housing and Residence Life Department at one of the institutions within the state of North Carolina
  • 1 Scholarship for an Undergraduate Student that is employed by a Housing/Residence LIfe Department or who serves in a leadership capacity in a Residence Hall Association or NRHH
  • 1 Scholarship for a Presenter whose program submission was accepted and approved for the Fall Annual Conference.

Other Scholarships

In addition to the scholarships for annual conference attendance, NCHO provides scholarships for attendance at SEAHO, ACUHO-I, RELI and NHTI. To apply and learn more about those scholarships, visit the scholarships page.

To be eligible for a scholarship, candidates must follow the criteria for the specific award and submit the application and any required supporting documents.

Contact Information

For more questions, comments or concerns please contact:

D’Najah Pendergrass Thomas, Past President of NCHO